Bare – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready

GO

BARE . . .

Stripped bare.

That’s how I felt last May.  For most of last summer, really.  Even into the fall.

Totally and completely broken in heart, mind, and body.

God allowed the stripping away of everyone and everything in my life that I had been clinging to until I had nothing to cling to but Him.

And I found that He – His strength – His faithfulness – His love – really was enough.

And I allowed His truths about Himself and about me to cover me, heal me, and renew me.

I don’t want what I suffered and learned in the process to have been in vain or to go to waste.

And I don’t want to be too afraid to bare my heart to someone again.

Having gone through what I did, I want to have the strength to be transparent and authentic – to bare myself to others who are in similar situations and offer encouragement and hope.

And most importantly, to let them know that God is ENOUGH.  

To fill their loneliness.

To mend their broken hearts.

To meet their needs.

To give the unconditional love they seek.

To rebuild them when they are stripped bare.

He. Is. ENOUGH.

And so are they.

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

6 thoughts on “Bare – #fiveminutefriday

  1. Great ending – He is enough and so are they! It’s hard to keep putting yourself out there, but that bumping up against others softens our edges and rubs off all the hides our true self. Beautiful. Thanks for sharing and redeeming your hurt to the glory of God!

  2. God is enough. I am learning this, in my own process, RIGHT NOW. I find your words comforting and reassuring. It is such a paradox to be sad for your pain & grateful for your ministry to me today. God bless you, dear Sister as you continue to walk the journey before you. Thank you!

  3. I get you, totally. My oneword for last year was Stripped. Not a pretty word or one that makes you feel nice or even hopeful but a necessary one and one I knew God needed to do in my life. Is still doing. Great write, friend. This is where we truly begin to be filled, when we are emptied and bare.

Leave a Reply

