Rest – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready

GO

REST . . .

Presence of:  

  • Peace.  
  • Contentment.  

Joy.  Satisfaction.  

  • Happiness.  
  • Gladness.  
  • Safety.  
  • Security.  
  • Belonging.

 

Absence of:  Anxiety.  Worry.  Stress.  Discontentment.  Strife.  Anger.  Dissatisfaction.  Insecurity.  Fear.  Loneliness.  

If there is one thing I have learned over the past year, is that true REST – the deep-down-in-my-soul rest that I yearn for – is only found in the Presence of God.  He alone can always give me rest, no matter what circumstances I find myself trapped in.

He has also given me rest by bringing people into my life with whom I can be – and I mean really be – myself and who make me feel like I am wrapped in a warm blanket just by talking to or chatting with them.

Even when life all around me is crazy, I can find rest in knowing that my God is in control, and is working all things – ALL THINGS – for my good.  

Find rest my soul . . .

In Christ alone . . .

[youtube://youtu.be/O6Fw8DgvTQA]

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

5 thoughts on “Rest – #fiveminutefriday

  1. Peace. Contentment.
    Joy. Satisfaction.

    Happiness. Gladness. Safety. Security. Belonging
    This is such an enticing description of the rest our souls yearn for… what a priviledge to know the Source… Stopping by from FMF… have a restful weekend. 🙂

  2. Nancy – you and I are kindred spirits. I love your blog. We started our blogs at the exact same time and follow a lot of the same blogs too. Loved your post on REST. I wrote about SOUL REST too! And In Christ Alone is a favorite song. My husband is a worship pastor and last year we attended a conference for worship leaders. The Gettys were there and it was really great to hear the writers of that hymn also sing it. It truly is a modern day hymn – full of glorious truth! Blessings to you on this beautiful FRIDAY!

  3. Pingback: Rest | godschick

Leave a Reply

