Remember – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready

GO

REMEMBER. . .

All throughout the His Word, God calls us to remember the commands He has given and the things He has done to rescue and restore His people.  Repeatedly He tells us to not forget what he has done.  To remember the works of His hands.  To remember how He rescued His people from slavery in Egypt, from slavery in Persia, from slavery to sin.

Remember

Remember

Remember

Over and over and over.

He knows how much we need to be reminded of His faithfulness and goodness when times are dark and we feel held captive.

He also knows how much we need to be reminded of those same things when times are shiny and we feel less like we need Him in order to breathe.

We ALWAYS need to remember that everything – ALL things, both good and bad – come through His hands to us.

And when we REMEMBER that nothing gets to us that He has not approved, then we can also remember His promises given over and over and over in His Word to make beauty from our ashes, restore the joy of our salvation, and renew our strength.

I will remember the Lord’s works; yes, I will remember Your ancient wonders. (Psalm 77:11)

And I will remember that He – the God of the universe – promises to remember me.  Amazing.

Psalm 115:11-13

11 You who fear the Lord, trust in the Lord!
He is their help and shield.
12 The Lord remembers us and will bless us.
He will bless the house of Israel;
He will bless the house of Aaron;
13 He will bless those who fear the Lord—
small and great alike.

Psalm 136:23

23 He remembered us in our humiliation
His love is eternal.

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

9 thoughts on “Remember – #fiveminutefriday

  1. Dear Nancy
    It brings such joy, such reassurance and rest to my heart to know that He never forgets us. Let us love Him by keeping our thoughts fixed on Him. Over via FMF.
    Much love
    Mia

  2. So true. He tells us not to forget what He has done. In Deuteronomy – He tells the Israelites that the will forget when they are in the Promise Land. He knows how we are made. I’m thankful for the Holy Spirit who is here to guide and teach me. I’m just not sure how good a student I am overall. (Learning) and Remembering. Thanks for your post. I’m Link #11 on 5 Minute Friday.

    I noticed some things about your blog and want to ask, since I’m also WordPress. You have an “about” at the bottom of your post – I was wondering what feature you use to have that? And, did you input the various blogs individually w/test (updating your post) or is there another feature you used to do that?

    Thanks and thanks for the link in your post!

    Jenn

    • Hi Jenn! Thanks for visiting! I honestly can’t remember where the “About” feature came from, it’s been so long since I did that, but I think it might be a feature of the blog theme I picked. It may also be a widget. I’ll check around and see if I can figure it out. As far as the links, I think you are talking about the “Related Articles” links on the post itself? I used the suggested related content generator (Zymanta, I think it’s called?) in the blog editor when creating the post. I just typed in “five minute friday” and the current topic in the search box, and it brought similar articles up. Then you just click on the ones you want to link to, and it inserts them automatically for you. But you can also do it manually. It just takes a lot longer. 🙂

      • Thanks! I just started working w/Zemanta the other day – didn’t realize it did that, thanks.

        Hope you can find the widget or whatever on the about – I think that’s a nice feature to have on the end of a post. I’ll look too – thanks again!

      • Ok, it looks like the info in the “About” section is from Settings:Public Profile, but I haven’t been able to find a place to actually “make” it appear. I’ll check around more, but I’m thinking it is part of the theme ….

      • I bet it’s the footer widgets in your theme. I like the way you’ve laid out our blog in that theme. I just changed themes recently – but didn’t realize this one could be modified in such a way … always changing my themes. I may take a look a this one … closer. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

