Jump – #fiveminutefriday – The Van Halen Version

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

JUMP. . .

I think Lisa Jo has been spending a lot of time listening to 80’s rock lately.  First Whitesnake, now Van Halen.  Because all I can think about right now is:

[youtube://youtu.be/SIRUAz3eSdg]

And that has to be followed up with this gem from Dan Haseltine from Jars of Clay.  This is a Christian devotional blog, after all . . .

[youtube://youtu.be/tXUM67D433w]

Anyway . . . .

I am taking the advice of the song, and am going to JUMP! into the next chapter of my life with both feet.  I don’t want to sit on the sidelines or cower in the shadows because I am afraid to put myself out there again.  Even though I’ve been hurt in relationships and friendships, I refuse to live my life too afraid to trust another person again.

And, frankly, sometimes God gives you a big old PUSH, and you don’t really have a choice about whether to jump or not.  So you might as well take the plunge and see what happens.

Besides . . . you don’t know, you won’t know until you begin . . . 😉

Van Halen Jump Lyrics

Songwriters: VAN HALEN, EDWARD / VAN HALEN, ALEX / ROTH, DAVID LEE
(Words by Van Halen)

I get up, and nothing gets me down.
You got it tough. I’ve seen the toughest around.
And I know, baby, just how you feel.
You’ve got to roll with the punches to get to what’s real
Oh, can’t you see me standing here?
I’ve got my back against the record machine
I ain’t the worst that you’ve seen.
Oh, can’t you see what I mean?

Ah, I might as well jump. Jump!
Might as well jump.
Go ahead, jump. Jump!
Go ahead, jump.

Aaa-ohh Hey you! Who said that?
Baby how you been?
You say you don’t know, you won’t know
Until you begin.
So can’t you see me standing here?
I’ve got my back against the record machine
I ain’t the worst that you’ve seen.
Oh, can’t you see what I mean?

I might as well jump. Jump!
Go ahead and jump.
Might as well jump. Jump!
Go ahead, jump. Jump!

(Guitar solo)
(Keyboard solo)

Might as well jump. Jump!
Go ahead and jump.
Get it and jump. Jump!
Go ahead and jump.
Jump!
Jump!
Jump!
Jump!

OneWord2013_New150

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

2 thoughts on “Jump – #fiveminutefriday – The Van Halen Version

Leave a Reply

