Friend – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

FRIEND . . .

Boy, this is a loaded word for me.  So many different directions I could go with this one after this past year.  But I don’t want to dwell on the past and things that were.

Because this year is all about embracing the

OneWord2013_New150

So, this is what I strive to do and be as a friend, and also what I expect in return.

  • I will be a loyal.
  • I will be trustworthy.
  • I will stick by your side and be there for you, no matter what.
  • I won’t disappear or turn my back on you when you go through hard times.
  • I will take your side and speak up for you and support you when you are being wronged, regardless of how uncomfortable it may be and no matter the cost.
  • I will communicate openly with you if there is a problem that needs to be addressed.
  • I will strive to make our friendship a partnership with equal amounts of give and take.
  • I will not try to exert passive/aggressive control over you to get my needs met.
  • I will not be a fair-weather friend.

And I have found people over the past year that I can count on no. matter. what.

People who get me.  Who REALLY get me.  And who really care about me, and are serious about being the hands and feet of Jesus and loving like He loved.

348677196120106400_qKtAXTnG_c

But, unfortunately, you can only do so much on your own to try to keep a friendship alive past the point of resuscitation.  I know all about that, having spent years trying to make both a marriage and a friendship work well past the point when most people would have given up.  And, like Jen Hatmaker recently blogged, there is a time when it’s okay to let go of a relationship, not only for your health and sanity, but for the health and sanity of everyone involved.

letting-go

And knowing when to do that is part of being a good friend, too.

STOP

Confession:  I took longer than five minutes.  But that’s ok sometimes. 🙂


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

3 thoughts on “Friend – #fiveminutefriday

Leave a Reply

