Brave – #fiveminutefriday

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

BRAVE . . .

I was so excited this morning when I logged onto Lisa Jo’s blog and saw the video for the new song “Brave” by Sara Bareilles.  A dear friend recently introduced me to her music, and she is absolutely phenomenal.  Her song “Say You’re Sorry” strikes so many chords with me.  But I LOVE “Brave.”  I mean seriously LOVE it.  So I’m including it here, too.

[youtube://youtu.be/xwTr_CRw3GY]

So many people who go through unplanned divorces are afraid to move forward with their lives.  They get stuck in the past, wishing things were different and obsessing over things that can’t be changed.  Or they are too scared to do anything other than just exist where they are.

This may sound harsh, but I feel that both of those things are cowardly.

I don’t want to be a coward.  I want to be brave enough to move forward in my life.  Brave enough to trust again.  Brave enough to take chances.  Brave enough to say yes to something unexpected.  Brave enough to say what I want to say, when I want to say it, and not worry about the ‘what if.’

So today, on my 36th birthday, I vow to always be BRAVE enough to live fully so that I can fully live.

STOP


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

6 thoughts on “Brave – #fiveminutefriday

  1. Happy Birthday! I’m so glad you are finding a way to be brave in the midst of big life changes. Speaking out, saying yes, and trusting are HUGE steps of bravery, and I hope you find great reward as you go forward.

  2. Dear Nancy
    I wish you a wonderful, blessed birthday! Oh, I agree with you, we need to be be brave enough to live fully to fully live. And that all with the grace of our Pappa God. What can we do else, don’t you think!
    Blessings
    Mia

  3. Well happiest of birthdays to you. What a wonderfully encouraging post! Praying you’ll always have the courage to move forward and live fully from this day forward. ~Tanya (stopping by from FMF)

  4. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Brave | Even A Girl Like Me

Leave a Reply

