Five Minute Friday: In Between

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

IN BETWEEN . . .

So, Lisa Jo seems to be reading my mind lately.  Or at least my devotional.  🙂

In last week’s FMF post, I talked about the new devotional study I had found at Sam’s, and how life was full of constant rhythms and changing seasons.

This morning I was working on the study, and one of the questions asked was “What season best reflects where you are in your life right now?”

This last year has been a year of limbo for me.  Of in between-ness.  Of change.  Of new.  My answer was that I am in between winter and spring.

I feel like I am coming out of a long, dark winter full of cold, icy temperatures and bitter winds.  That is what it feels like when relationships you thought would last forever end and people you cared about suddenly decide to stop caring back.  You feel the ice where there used to be warmth and bitterness where there used to be fellowship.  Winter is when things die, but . . .

BUT…..

Some things have to die in order for new things to be born.

Spring is just beginning to peek through the cold left in the wake of winter.

Flowers in the Snow

I can see signs of new life and new growth in friendships that have been born out of the ending of old, dead ones.

I can see signs of new life and new possibilities in a new relationship born out of mutual respect, shared experiences, and open, honest communication.

But most of all, I can see signs of  new life and new growth in my spiritual life and my relationship with God over this past year, incubating underneath winter’s harshness.  I am closer to God and I believe I am getting closer to the person God wants me to be.  I haven’t arrived, by any means.  None of us every truly will until we arrive Home.  I still struggle with my emotions and flashes of anger and pain.  I’m sure that will be a constant battle for a while still.  But they continue to get fewer and farther in between.

So, right now, in between my winter’s end and my not-yet-fully-arrived spring, I will count my many blessings, work on being the best me I can be, and look forward to what is to come.

Edited to add the following, which was what I wanted to say, but couldn’t seem to find the words for.  Thanks to onepassiononedevotion.wordpress.com for saying what I couldn’t.  Hope you don’t mind me borrowing from you.  🙂

This is my time.  My today.  My moment.  I want to maximize my in between by being present in it.

I want to OWN my in between. 


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: In Between

  1. Hi Nancy. The changing seasons of our lives can often make us feel like we inhabit some kind of in between world where we wait to see what is going to happen next and ponder how best to move forward. The illustration of hibernating in Winter with new life and growth appearing in Spring is really apt and so applicable here. I am encouraged by the journey you have shared. Thanks very much for this thoughtful reflection. Blessings from FMF! 🙂 x

  2. Dear Nancy
    Yes, those dainty flowers we find amidst the heavy snow during those winter seasons of our life, have a peculiar, gentle, dainty beauty that takes your breath away. I am glad to hear that you were blessed with new friendships that are built on mutual respect! That is so important!
    Blessings
    Mia

  3. Hi Mia, cheering you on for seeing the signs of a growing relationship with God. be encouraged that HIS hope is the only true beacon that shines in our life … blessings to you and may your weekend be truly meaningful 🙂

    thank you so much for the pingback — April

  4. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Present | Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

