Lesson Two: A Time for #NEW Beginnings

Standard

ecclesiastes 3 2

One of the most exciting things about being a child of God is that God is always up to something NEW. – Margaret Feinberg

Sometimes God uses us and the community we’re in to do something NEW to share the love of Christ with others . . . Sometimes the NEW thing God is doing is within us. – Margaret Feinberg

Sometimes the idea of trying or starting something new invigorates me.  Other times it can be very, very frightening.  Often my response to something new depends upon the circumstances, and whether or not I see the “new” thing as something good or something bad.  I’m usually always up for trying a new type of food or restaurant, visiting a new place, or learning new things.  I love new experiences.

On the other hand, I tend to be leery when it comes to new relationships and friendships because I have been incredibly hurt by people I trusted. I have also been leery of big changes – like job moves or physical moves – because of the uncertainty that accompanies those types of choices and what negative outcomes might mean for my family.  Trying a new food and not liking it is vastly different from trying a new job and hating it.  Been there.  LIVED THAT.

This past year, though, God has used my circumstances to force me into facing A LOT of new things.  New friends.  New areas in which to serve at my church.  New opportunities at work.  The start and subsequent end, albeit amicable and healthy with the hope of eventual continued friendship, of my first new relationship.  New dreams.  New goals.  New vision.  And the list goes on and on.

I’m taking baby steps toward my new as I am learning how to embrace my second chance and pursue my goals and my dreams.  And part of that is also figuring out exactly what my goals and my dreams are.  But . . .

Sometimes stepping out in faith to be part of something new that God is doing stretches us beyond our comfort zones. – Margaret Feinberg

Exodus 3:1-10 tells the story of Moses’ encounter with Yahweh at the burning bush.  In Exodus 3:11-15 and 4:1-17, Moses goes through a litany of reasons why God picked the wrong guy.   God was having none of it, though.  Moses was not about to get out of what God had for him to do.  If I were Moses, and God were talking to me out of a burning bush, I’m not sure I would have tried to argue with Him.  In fact, I’d probably be too scared to respond at all.  That is, if I hadn’t already passed out.

Despite our protests that something won’t work or somehow we’re not qualified, if God calls us to do something new, He will provide a way. – Margaret Feinberg

For years, I put service to (and, therefore, obedience to) God on the back burner because my ex-husband wasn’t on board with being involved in anything.  Not a Sunday School class.  Not a small group.  Not an area of service.  Not even friendships with other couples.  Nothing.  Last fall, however, I was able to begin helping in a high school girls’ Sunday School class.  In fact, since last summer I have gone from attending one main church service on Sundays and one class on Wednesday nights to attending one, sometimes two, worship services (depending upon my media volunteer schedule) and teaching Sunday School on Sundays, attending home group on Sunday nights, and attending class or service on Wednesdays.

Even more important, though, is that my son now attends Sunday School and worship on Sundays (instead of one or the other), also volunteers in media, attends home group with me on the weekends he is home, and goes to youth group on Wednesdays.  And he absolutely loves it.  He is being actively mentored both by older men and young men closer to his age.  He loves interacting with them and knows there are any number of men he can talk to in our church when he needs to.  And I love that.

Not only does God do NEW things through us but He also does NEW things within us.  God is steadily renewing us – or making us NEW – as we yield to Him in our lives. – Margaret Feinberg

What Satan mean for evil God has used to bring about tremendous good in both my and my son’s spiritual lives.  God CAN make beauty from the ashes of our lives.  Never in a million years would I have ever thought that one of the biggest blessings in my life would be going through an unwanted divorce.  But that experience was the catalyst that pushed me into a deeper relationship with God, renewed my desire to do His work, opened the door for my son to have deeper relationships with godly men who want to help me disciple him, and freed me from things and people that had been holding me back from reaching my full potential.  

Now, I am not as afraid to strive for new things.  In fact, God has placed a NEW dream on my heart.  I think I finally know what I want to be when I grow up.  And I am working toward that goal now.  In a few short years my child will graduate high school (*SOB!*) and I will be ready to embark on that journey.

And I am looking forward to that new beginning with great anticipation.

Previous Posts on this Study:
5 thoughts on “Lesson Two: A Time for #NEW Beginnings

  1. Pingback: The List | LifeVesting

  2. Pingback: Embarking on a Journey | APreachasKid

  3. Pingback: Lesson Three: A Time for Necessary Endings | Pilgrim Wanderings

  4. Pingback: Yahweh-Yireh {YHWH Will Provide} | Pilgrim Wanderings

  5. Pingback: Lesson Four: A Time to Transition | Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

