I am a Single Parent, and My Home is NOT Broken

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

BROKEN . . .

So, first, confession:  I didn’t actually write this post today, I wrote it last Saturday.  But it only took about five minutes then, and I had to laugh when I say today’s prompt.  I guess God was giving me a little bit of foresight. 😉  Anyway, I’m re-using it as my FMF post for this week.  So . . .

This thought hit me while doing my quiet time, and I just really wanted to buy a billboard so every single mom or single dad could hear it:

The belief that every single-parent home is a “broken home” is a lie from Satan.  Just because I am now the head of a single-parent home, that does NOT mean my home is “broken.” My home is actually more whole and complete than it ever was before because now God is truly the Head of it.

Broken homes exist when God is not placed first. – click to tweet this

That can happen when there are two parents present just as – sometimes more – easily as in single-parent homes. To call every two-parent home “whole” and every single-parent home “broken” sends the message that outward image (number of bodies) is more important that actual inward content (spiritual relationship to God and others). And that is NOT TRUE.

Using that kind of sweeping negative language is as damaging to the kids of single-parents as using negative adoption language is to adopted kids. And we need to stop it.


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

 

4 thoughts on “I am a Single Parent, and My Home is NOT Broken

Leave a Reply

