Coffee with God – July 29, 2013

Standard

The Bible is a promise book and a prayer book. And while reading is reactive, prayer is proactive. Reading is the way you get through the Bible; prayer is the way you get the Bible through you. As you pray, the Holy Spirit will quicken certain promises to your spirit. You need to circle those promises, both figuratively and literally.  ~ Mark Batterson, Circle Maker

The believer has no fruitfulness apart from union and fellowship with Christ.  A branch out of contact with the vine is lifeless.  A living union with Christ is absolutely necessary; without it there is nothing.  ~ NIV Study Bible Journal

Psalm 81:6-12

New International Version (NIV)

6 “I removed the burden from their shoulders;
their hands were set free from the basket.
7 In your distress you called and I rescued you,
I answered you out of a thundercloud;
I tested you at the waters of Meribah.[a]
8 Hear me, my people, and I will warn you—
if you would only listen to me, Israel!
9 You shall have no foreign god among you;
you shall not worship any god other than me.
10 I am the Lord your God,
who brought you up out of Egypt.
Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.

11 “But my people would not listen to me;
Israel would not submit to me.
12 So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts
to follow their own devices.

(from The One Year Chronological Bible – NIV, July 29, 2013)
Leave a Reply

