Five Minute Friday: Small

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.  

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

SMALL . . .

We’ve all heard the saying “you can’t see the forest for all the trees.”  The reasoning behind that is that if we focus on the small things, then we won’t be able to see the big picture.  And that is true about a lot of things, especially when the small things we are focusing on are annoyances or temporary problems or other things that are unpleasant.  Focusing on those things makes us forget the size of the God we serve.

Sometimes, though, when we have large problems or trying circumstances in our lives – divorce, broken relationships, becoming a single mom, juggling finances on one income, wondering how I’m possibly going to help my kid pay for college in a few years, wondering if I’ll be single for the rest of my life – we can get overwhelmed by the vastness of what we are facing and forget about the small blessings that God gives us every day.

Lately, I’ve not been able to see the trees for the forest.

I need to be intentional about focusing on the blessings that God gives me daily, no matter how small they may seem.  Small blessings add up to big joy when that becomes our focus and praise becomes our response.

I need to stop looking at the size of the forest and wringing my hands.  

IMG_20120529_151037

I need to look intently at the beauty of each leaf.

fall-maple-leaf-3

I need to smell the sweet aroma of each individual blossom.

IMG_20120609_120058

I need to focus on the light streaming through the trees.

236_moses_tree_b_w-w550h550

I need to remember that all is grace.

If there is ever a day (and there won’t be) when the only thing good that happens is that I keep breathing and my heart keeps beating, then that alone adds up to thousands of gifts.

Each and every new breath.

Each and every new heartbeat.

Of me.

Of my child.

Small things that we don’t even notice.

Each and every one a gift from God.

My self-pity and worry is nothing but ungratefulness.

Who am I to complain about His timing and His plan?

1107

There are no small gifts.

ALL is grace.  

Eucharisteo.

1135


Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Small

  1. My dad passed away due to complications with Parkinson’s over a year ago. When you care for someone so sick, the forest looks pretty big. Ann Voskamp’s book really helped me to see the good in each and every day. It’s a deliberate decision moment by moment.

    • So true. I lost my dad to lymphoma in 2005, so I also understand how overwhelming terminal illness is, and know that pain as well. I truly don’t understand how people who don’t know Jesus can deal with things like that. Thanks for visiting and sharing.

  2. Yes, even a forest that looks menacing can become beautiful and friendly once we stop and appreciate the beauty of every tree, the streams and the sunbeams playing through the branches!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

