Coffee with God – August 21, 2013

Standard


Passages that stuck out to me in today’s reading  of in The One Year Chronological Bible (NIV).

‘Hear my prayer, O LORD; let my cry for help come to you.’ – Psalm 102:1

We’ve been studying the Holy Spirit in my Sunday School class.  I am so grateful that we can KNOW without doubt that God does hear us because we have been promised that the Holy Spirit is interceding for us and Jesus is our great High Priest who advocates always on our behalf.

‘He will respond to the prayer of the destitute; He will not despise their plea.’ – Psalm 102:17

I may be a single mom on a fixed income with a tight budget, but I am no where near being destitute.  Still, I know that God hears my prayers for provision, too, especially when unexpected expenses arise or there is yet another weird noise coming from the car.  He has never failed to meet one of my needs over the past 15 months, and He won’t fail me now.  There is so much that I often fail to be grateful for.  That’s why it is so imperative that I keep my 1000 Gifts journal daily and focus on the many blessings that God gives minute by minute.  I am trying to teach my son the same things.  We might not have everything we want, but we have way more than we need.

‘I call on the LORD in my distress, and He answers me.’ – Psalm 120:1

I am learning that God ALWAYS answers our prayers.  It might not be the answer we are wanting, but His answer is always the best one for us, even if it is “No” or “Not right now.”

‘Your wound is as deep as the sea.  Who can heal you?’ – Lamentations 2:13c

He can.  

‘He heals the brokenhearted
and binds up their wounds.’ – Psalm 147:3

Micah 7:18-20

Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)

18 Who is a God like You,
removing iniquity and passing over rebellion
for the remnant of His inheritance?
He does not hold on to His anger forever,
because He delights in faithful love.
19 He will again have compassion on us;
He will vanquish our iniquities.
You will cast all our[a] sins
into the depths of the sea.
20 You will show loyalty to Jacob
and faithful love to Abraham,
as You swore to our fathers
from days long ago.

 

Leave a Reply

