Yahweh-Yireh {YHWH Will Provide}

Standard

Abraham named the place Yahweh-Yireh (which means “the Lord will provide”). To this day, people still use that name as a proverb: “On the mountain of the Lord it will be provided.” – Genesis 22:14 (New Living Translation)

So, last Friday morning I was sitting in my local Firestone waiting for my car to be fixed and drafting my next blog post in the “A Time for Everything” study that I am working through.   This post was originally going to be a part of that next post (which will probably be up by Saturday), but it ended up taking on a life of it’s own and going a little off topic.  I had just finished writing about God’s blessing and provision during my last year of transition, and knowing that God would continue to take care of my son and I when He showed up to provide – once again right on time – in a HUGE way.

1175246_10201672968253208_1509482633_n

But first, backstory . . .

My trusty old Impala had had a loud roaring noise coming from the front wheels when driving for about a week.  Since my son had his road test for his driver’s license scheduled for the following Wednesday (TODAY!) and will be driving the car to and from school, it needed to be checked out.  I was hoping that it was simply tire noise because they needed to be rotated, but I had needed to have wheel bearings replaced on one side of the front before, and knew that or needing new tires was also a possibility.  So I started calling around early last week to get some quotes, and took Friday off to go get it looked at.  In the meantime, I had been praying hard for there to be either nothing major wrong, or for God to provide a way to fix the car without totally wiping out my savings account.

I should note that I had just last month spent around $350 to fix a coolant leak.   But God was still providing, as the car overheated close to a local service center with me driving, and not my kid.  It’s a very sturdy car with an engine that runs great, but at almost 180,000 miles stuff is going to wear out.  I’d rather have stuff break before I turn it over to him than after.

I should also note that it’s hard to find a trustworthy mechanic.  I had a great one that charged very reasonable prices, but they went out of business several months ago.  In June, I went back a local mechanic I had previously used before to get routine maintenance done (radiator flush and new fluid).  In the process of fixing the coolant leak I mentioned above the service center informed me that they flushed my radiator, too, since it was grimy.  So that was disappointing, to say the least, after I had paid someone I thought I could trust to do it two months ago.

So anyway, my plan was to have my tires rotated at my local Discount Tire first, since I get free rotation because I bought my tires there.  Then if that didn’t solve the noise issue, I’d have an appointment to look at the car scheduled just in case.  The first place I called was the service center that fixed my coolant leak.  I trusted them to do good work, but I knew they were pricey.  In fact, it probably would have cost me about $100 less to have the coolant leak fixed anywhere else, but I would have paid close to that to get my car towed somewhere else, plus lost time at work trying to figure out where to take it and when.  I was just glad to have gotten to a service center, since there wasn’t another one around for several miles.  Anyway, I digress . . . back to pricing for replacing wheel bearings.  So, they wanted $450 PER SIDE to fix the wheel bearings, if that was what was wrong.

PER.

SIDE.

Ouch.

Then I called my local Firestone, which was closer to my house and who I had also used before for tire repair and oil changes.  They quoted me $338 for one side and around $600 for both sides, and offered to rotate my tires for free first and have one of their techs drive it afterwards so I didn’t have to go to two places.  They also had a special on a complete vehicle inspection for $9.99.  Needless to say, I made the appointment with Firestone.

So that is how I came to be at Firestone on a Friday morning doing my morning devotions and writing out a blog post.  The tech drove my car and listened to the noise.  The manager called me over and said the tech was pretty sure it was at least one of my wheel bearings, but he was going to have them rotate my tires and drive my car again anyway just to be sure.  They did, and the manager called me back up to tell me that the noise was still there.  He was pretty sure it was coming from the right wheel, because the left one looked like it had been replaced before (it had).  So I told them to go ahead and fix it.

Sigh.

I was right in the middle of writing my post when the manager called me over a third time.  I was not excited to be talking to him again, especially after seeing the look on his face as I was walking over.  He said they replaced the right one, drove it again, and still heard noise coming from the left side.

Which meant the left one was going bad as well.

Great.

Then the manager asked me if I knew who had fixed the left one before.  I said yes.  He said that if he knew where the left one had come from, he could probably return it for a rebate/refund.  So, if it was ok with me, he’d just go ahead and replace the left side, too, but wouldn’t charge me for the part – just the extra labor – which basically amounted to around $50.

The part itself cost almost $250.

THAT DOES NOT HAPPEN.

EVER.

I got there at 8:30 a.m. and walked out a little over 2 hours later with a full vehicle inspection, rotated tires, and new wheel bearings and hubs on both front wheels for less than $450, tax included.

THAT IS LESS THAN THE QUOTE I GOT FOR FIXING ONE SIDE FROM THE OTHER PLACE I CALLED.

I don’t have to worry.

YHWH will provide.

Yahweh-yireh.

Jehovah-jireh.

And Firestone has a loyal customer for life.

 
Related Posts:
One thought on “Yahweh-Yireh {YHWH Will Provide}

  1. Pingback: Lesson Four: A Time to Transition | Pilgrim Wanderings

Leave a Reply

