Red {Five Minute Friday}

Standard

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!

Five minutes of writing on a word prompt give by Lisa Jo Baker over here.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Are you ready?

GO

RED . . .

Stop 

Red stop signs.  Red stop lights.   Making me wait.  Making me late.  Stopping me from moving forward.  Forcing patience where it isn’t wanted.

Hmmm.

Sort of like the season of life that I am in right now.  Stopped.  Waiting.  Feeling like I am missing out on something.  Wanting to speed through this season of alone to get to the season of together.

1017

Yield

Red yield signs.  Making me not get to where I want to be fast enough.  Slowing me down.  Again forcing patience where it isn’t wanted.  Slowing me down to a crawl on this journey when I just want to get on through this time so it will be over and I will be less lonely.

Hmm.

Will I choose to yield to the place God has placed me?  Will I choose to yield to Him and accept that this is where I am supposed to be for this time, whether I like it or not?  Will I slow down my mad rush toward what I want long enough to notice the purpose in the wait?  To notice His purpose in my wait?

8426073044_5bcbed2a4a_o

Danger

Flashing warning lights.  Flashing brake lights.  Alerting me to danger in my surroundings.  Making me stop.  Slow down.  Take notice of what is going on around me.  Taking time.  Putting a pause in my journey when my desire is to rush headlong from point A to point Z and skip all the stops, detours, pauses along the way.

Hmm.

Could it be that the obstacles and obstructions in my path that are so irritating and so draining and so worrisome are God’s way of shielding me from danger that I am barreling myself toward in the pursuit of what I want?  Or what I think I want?  His way of protecting me from making the same mistakes I am prone to make when given my own way?  Will I heed His warnings and listen?  Or will I stubbornly follow my deceitful and desperately wicked heart searching for something only He can provide?

1121

Ink

Dangerously low bank account balances.  Juggling limited funds to keep from ending up in the red.  Laying awake at night trying to figure out how to create more income.  Pondering the need for a second job, but not wanting to completely miss out on the last few years my child will be home.  Trying to figure out if there is anything else I can cut out of my already bare-bones budget.  Struggling to make ever shorter ends meet as the single mom of a teenager that seems to always need another $50 for school, clothes, gas, physicals, sports, etc.  Wanting to make sure his needs are met and he doesn’t suffer the consequences of the sins and mistakes of his parents.   Because he has already suffered enough at the hands of selfish people.

Hmm.

I am reminded of the other red ink.  The letter written to me in red that says

Therefore I tell you, don’t worry about your life, what you will eat; or about the body, what you will wear. For life is more than food and the body more than clothing.  Consider the ravens: They don’t sow or reap; they don’t have a storeroom or a barn; yet God feeds them.  Aren’t you worth much more than the birds? Can any of you add a cubit to his height by worrying? If then you’re not able to do even a little thing, why worry about the rest? Consider how the wildflowers grow: They don’t labor or spin thread. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was adorned like one of these!  If that’s how God clothes the grass, which is in the field today and is thrown into the furnace tomorrow, how much more will He do for you—you of little faith? Don’t keep striving for what you should eat and what you should drink, and don’t be anxious. For the Gentile world eagerly seeks all these things, and your Father knows that you need them.  But seek His kingdom, and these things will be provided for you. Don’t be afraid, little flock, because your Father delights to give you the kingdom.  Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Make money-bags for yourselves that won’t grow old, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  – Luke 12: 22-34

Reminding me that everything I am worrying about is JUST. STUFF.

Just stuff that doesn’t matter in view of eternity and that will pass away and turn to dust.  Reminding me of all the times He has met my needs and came through with exactly what I needed it exactly when I needed it.  No more.  No less.  Just what is needed.  Reminding me that I need to be more concerned with investing in things with Kingdom significance instead of investing in my kingdom.


1236239_10151927536312498_219385429_n

Wounds

Bloody wounds.  Scabs that keep getting knocked off or picked at before complete healing has taken place.  Ripping the band-aid off too quickly.  Bright red scars yet to fade because not enough time has passed.

Hmm.

Like my broken and bleeding heart.  Taking on too much.  Too fast.  Too soon.  Running ahead before I have truly healed from the hurt.  Before I have let the Healer do His work in me.  He has promised me healing.

[youtube://youtu.be/3xzaivDbu9c]

156148312049894356_yKdhCmuQ_c

Healing by His wounds.  By His stripes.

But He was pierced because of our transgressions,
crushed because of our iniquities;
punishment for our peace was on Him,
and we are healed by His wounds. (Isaiah 53:5)

Cleansing me – my body, mind, and spirit – by His blood.

Though your sins are like scarlet,
they will be as white as snow;
though they are as red as crimson,
they will be like wool. (Isaiah 1:18)

Covering my ransom.  Paying my debt.  

Covering my red with His Red and making me clean.  

Pure.

OneWord2013_New

Wanna play? Here’s how:
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

 

6 thoughts on “Red {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Lots of good thoughts on this today. It brings up a lot, doesn’t it? Thanks for including my post in your pingbacks. I appreciate it, and hope you have a fulfilling weekend. ~Blessings

    • Thanks for visiting! It sure did. I almost didn’t even participate, because I didn’t think the word would bring up much. Guess I ended up being wrong about that!

  2. Your style grabbed me and held on. Saying a prayer for you right now. Thanks for writing this week and reminding us where our companionship, provision, & confidence some from. May your hope be unwavering and full of joy as you continue to see Him perfectly provide all that you truly need.

  3. I’ve decided I must have a glow about me when I have money in my billfold – ’cause that’s when the boys need money for something. Red can be such a harsh word. It reminds me of a song on a kid’s tape, “red light means stop. Green light means it’s safe to go now. Yellow is inbetween.” LOL – I hate stopping, being patient – but I am learning there are sweet things going on in the stop:) Thank you for sharing your heart – beautiful, real, encouragement!

Leave a Reply

