Coffee with God – September 26, 2013

Standard

coffeewithgodlogo

Passages that stuck out to me in today’s reading  of Nehemiah 13 and Joel 1-2 in The One Year Chronological Bible (NIV).

Our God, however, turned the curse into a blessing. (Nehemiah 13:2b)

Remember me for this, O my God, and do not blot out what I have so faithfully done for the house of my God and its services.  (Nehemiah 13:14)

Remember me for this also, O my God, and show mercy to me according to Your great love. (Nehemiah 13:22b)

Remember me with favor, O my God.  (Nehemiah 13:31b)

‘Even now,’ declares the LORD, ‘return to me with all your heart, with fasting and weeping and mourning.’ (Joel 2:12)

Rend your heart and not your garments.  Return to the LORD your God, for He is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love, and He relents from sending calamity.  Who knows?  He may turn and have pity and leave behind a blessing – grain offerings and drink offerings for the LORD your God. (Joel 2:13-14)

Be not afraid, O land; be glad and rejoice.  Surely the LORD has done great things. (Joel 2:21)

Be glad, O people of Zion, rejoice in the LORD your God, for He has given you the autumn rains in righteousness. (Joel 2:23)

I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten – the great locust and the young locust, the other locusts and the locust swarm – my great army that I sent among you.’ (Joel 2:25)

‘And afterward, I will pour out My Spirit on all people.  Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.  Even on My servants, both men and women, I will pour out My Spirit in those days.’ (Joel 2:28-29)

And everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved; for on Mount Zion and in Jerusalem there will be deliverance, as the LORD has said, among the survivors whom the LORD calls. (Joel 2:32)

 

Leave a Reply

